Westmoreland County Staff Photo

Sue Jones, Treasurer, Bonnie Self, Chief Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Treasurers, Laura Schools and Kim Harhai.

The Westmoreland County Treasurer’s office received its accreditation from the Treasurer’s Association of Virginia on May 19.

The Office Accreditation program is a voluntary professional certificate program overseen by the Treasurers’ Association of Virginia. Sixty-seven treasurer’s offices received accreditation this year.

While it is not required for any treasurer’s office to be accredited, receiving accreditation acknowledges that the office meets the statewide best practices for performance in treasury management. 

As part of the accreditation process, offices must successfully pass an outside audit with no findings of material weakness. 

The rigorous accreditation process also requires proof of continuing education such as attendance of an ethics course by the treasurer (or a principal officer) and educational requirements for all staff. Accredited offices are required to have written policies in place addressing areas such as personnel, customer service and delinquent collections.

“These offices have met the highest standards of achievement and integrity measured by our association,” says Treasurers’ Association President Carla de la Pava. “We are proud of the 67 offices which received accreditation this year and the hard work and dedication it took for each of them to demonstrate excellence in fiscal management.”